AVIWE PLAATJIE

 
IMG_9142-min.jpg

Born in 1988 in South Africa, lives and works in Cape Town, South Africa.

 

Aviwe Plaatjie is a painter and printmaker. He describes himself as a simple observer of his community, capturing his family, friends and neighbors in their everyday environment. He paints those intimate moments such as a conversation between two friends, a furtive pause on a staircase, the pleasure of leafing through a magazine, or a solitary daydream staring out the window. Aviwe Plaatjie offers a peaceful vision of the inhabitants of Khayelitsha township where he lives. Time is suspended in his paintings, allowing for contemplation and attention. 

The artist deploys elaborate backgrounds around his characters and pays particular attention to the details of domestic interiors, fabrics and textures. The references to music, clothing, film and literature are multiple, depicting a proud and uninhibited generation with globalized influences. 

 

Aviwe Plaatjie is self-taught. He was introduced to drawing as a child by his mother. In 2010, he joined the Good Hope Arts Studios collective where he developed his practice. He also participates in the VANSA mentoring program where he learns printmaking techniques. Aviwe Plaatjie is a frequent visitor to the Cape Town art scene and participates in local exhibitions and workshops with various collectives while continuing to work in the studio.

 

In 2020 he was spotted by the Ebony / Curated gallery which organised his first solo show and presented him in London at the 1-54 fair. In 2021, he was exhibited by 31 PROJECT at Artissima in Turin and in 2022 in the gallery's space in Paris. 

 
 

CURRICULUM VITAE

SOLO SHOWS

2021

Makwande, Ebony / Curated, Cape Town - SA

GROUP SHOWS

2022

KIAF, 31 PROJECT, Seoul - KR

ARCO, 31 PROJECT, Lisbon - PT

Induku Entle Ikhiwa Ezizweni, L'éclat des ailleurs, 31 PROJECT, Paris - FR

Investec Cape Town Art Fair, Ebony / Curated, Cape Town - SA

2021

Artissima fair, 31 PROJECT, Turin - IT

1-54 Contemporary Art Fair, Ebony / Curated, London - UK

African Galleries Now in Partnership with Artsy, Ebony / Curated,

Cape Town - SA

In [the] Loop, Group Show, Ebony / Curated, Cape Town -  SA

 

2020

Latitudes Art Fair, online presentation with Ebony / Curated,

Johannesburg - SA

FNB Art Joburg, online presentation with Ebony / Curated,

Johannesburg - SA 

In The Making, Associated Visual Arts Gallery, Cape Town - SA

Home Is Where The Art Is, Zeitz Museum of Contemporary Art Africa,

Cape Town - SA

 

2018

Committee choice Exhibition, Art B Gallery, Cape Town - SA

Greatmore Thupelo Internation Workshop Exhibition,  Cape Town - SA

PUBLIC COLLECTIONS

Norval Foundation Homestead Collection, Cape Town - SA

WITH 31 PROJECT

EXHIBITIONS

2022

Induku Entle Ikhiwa Ezizweni, L'éclat des ailleurs, duo show, Paris - FR

FAIRS

2022

KIAF, group show, Seoul - KR

ARCO, group show, Lisbon - PT

2021

Artissima, group show, Turin - IT

AVIWE PLAATJIE

 
IMG_9142-min.jpg

Né en 1988 en Afrique du Sud, vit et travaille à Cape Town, Afrique du Sud.

Aviwe Plaatjie est peintre et graveur. Il se décrit comme simple observateur de sa communauté saisissant sa famille, ses amis et voisins dans leur environnement quotidien. Il peint ces moments intimes d’une conversation entre deux amis, d’une pause furtive sur une marche d’escalier, du plaisir de feuilleter un magazine ou de rêveur solitaire les yeux fixés sur la fenêtre. Aviwe Plaatjie propose une vision apaisée des habitants du township de Khayelitsha où il réside. Le temps est dans ses toiles comme suspendu, propice à la réflexion et à l’écoute. 

L’artiste déploie autour de ses figures des arrière-plans complexes et une attention toute particulière aux détails d’intérieurs domestiques, aux étoffes et aux textures. Les références musicales, vestimentaires, cinématographiques où littéraires sont multiples décrivant une génération fière et décomplexée aux influences globalisées. 

 

Aviwe Plaatjie est autodidacte. Il s’initie au dessin dès l’enfance en étant sensibilisé aux arts visuels par sa mère. En 2010, il rejoint le collectif Good Hope Arts Studios où il développe sa pratique picturale. Il participe également au programme de mentorat VANSA avec lequel il s’initie aux techniques de la gravure. Aviwe Plaatjie fréquente la scène artistique de Cape Town et participe avec différents collectifs à des expositions et workshops au niveau local tout en continuant à travailler en studio.

 

En 2020 il est repéré par la galerie Ebony / Curated qui lui organise son premier solo show et le présente à Londres lors de la foire 1-54. En 2021, il est exposé par 31 PROJECT sur Artissima à Turin puis en 2022 dans l’espace de la galerie à Paris. 

 
 

CURRICULUM VITAE

EXPOSITIONS INDIVIDUELLES
2021

Makwande, Ebony / Curated, Cape Town - SA

EXPOSITIONS COLLECTIVES

2022

KIAF, 31 PROJECT, Seoul - KR

ARCO, 31 PROJECT, Lisbonne - PT

Induku Entle Ikhiwa Ezizweni, L'éclat des ailleurs, 31 PROJECT, Paris - FR

Investec Cape Town Art Fair, Ebony / Curated, Cape Town - SA

2021

Artissima, 31 PROJECT, Turin - IT

1-54 Contemporary Art Fair, Ebony / Curated, Londres - UK

African Galleries Now in Partnership with Artsy, Ebony / Curated, 

Cape Town - SA

In [the] Loop, Ebony / Curated, Cape Town -  SA

 

2020

Latitudes Art Fair, présentation en ligne avec EBONY / CURATED,

Johannesburg - SA

FNB Art Joburg, présentation en ligne avec Ebony / Curated,

Johannesburg - SA

In The Making, Associated Visual Arts Gallery, Cape Town - SA 

Home Is Where The Art Is, Zeitz Museum of Contemporary Art Africa,

Cape Town - SA

 

2018

Committee choice Exhibition, Art B Gallery, Cape Town - SA

Greatmore Thupelo Internation Workshop Exhibition,  Cape Town - SA

COLLECTIONS PUBLIQUES

Norval Foundation Homestead Collection, Cape Town, SA

AVEC 31 PROJECT

EXPOSITIONS

2022

Induku Entle Ikhiwa Ezizweni, L'éclat des ailleurs, duo show, Paris - FR

FOIRES

2022

KIAF, group show, Seoul - KR

ARCO, group show, Lisbonne - PT

2021

Artissima, group show, Turin - IT