PAST EXHIBITIONS

 

YOUR PARENTS ARE SOO OLD

                        

Solo show by Georgina Maxim

 

8 - 11 November 2019
Le Carreau du Temple , rue Eugène Spuller– 75003 Paris

 

 

For its first participation at the AKAA fair from 8 to 11 November 2019 in Paris, 31 PROJECT presents a solo show by Georgina Maxim.

Your parents are soo old is an exhibition presenting several new textile pieces by Zimbabwean artist Georgina Maxim. From second-hand clothes that the artist dismantles into hundreds of strips, she sews and invents abstract textile pieces, moving, torn and recomposed surfaces, thus creating a very personal cartography.
These clothes bear the history of their former owners, a silent memory and an absence against which the artist tries to remedy stitch by stitch. Georgina Maxim gathers the scattered pieces, sews, embroiders and draws the scars to fight against oblivion. Each colour and element thus assembled reactivates these stories accumulated into new narratives.

-----

 

Text by Clémence Houdart

November 2019, Paris

The preservation and restoration of memory is at the heart of Georgina Maxim's work. Through weaving and embroidery she assembles hundreds of scattered pieces of textiles from blouses, dresses and mostly feminine and second-hand clothing.  Her works are nourished by the stories evoked by these garments as intaglio testimonies of those who wore them. Georgina Maxim works with the fragmentation and fragmentation of her medium and then stitches the shreds back together stitch by stitch, thus multiplying the stories and inventing new narratives.

Your parents are soo old, lyrics reminiscent of the artist's childhood, serve as the starting point for this series of recent works by Georgina Maxim. In the movement of successive generations from disappearance to birth, she draws a singular family narrative around filiation and its roots.  

"Every time my Mbuya and Sekuru came, it was always for Parents' Day or prize giving ceremonies. On those days the class would rustle with whispers and laughter because my parents seemed so old."

Shabby Agnes, at the centre of this exhibition, is a large piece of textile all in thickness, colours, lace and woollen threads.  A moving and torn surface, charged with the weight of the stories it tells, it is a tribute to the missing mother. Several dresses make it up, following the artist's creative process using the splintering of the material then its recomposition. The work is a social criticism of certain traditions and rites linked to Zimbabwean culture - such as the custom that following a death all the deceased's belongings are immediately dispersed in the public square.

Hands in the cookies jar, Mhingo / when you com back carry me II, Letters I wasn't supposed to read, are all evocative titles that unfold their narratives in an echo between each of the works. They refer us to the artist's personal history, but resonate with everyone like familiar anecdotes or phrases already heard in conversation.

This familiarity is often tinged with humour, as Georgina Maxim plays with incongruous embroidered details in her pieces, offering a breath of fresh air and a slight discrepancy to her discourse.

The use of textiles offers this immediate and very organic relationship to the work. Georgina Maxim speaks to us about the bodies that have inhabited these clothes, about their absence. She tries in a quasi-performative act, through the repetition of the stitches, the needle and thread and the mechanical gesture, to compensate for this emptiness. Georgina Maxim repairs and reveals the scars. She sews flush with the skin. Her works are like an open book, a diary that transcribes both these past stories and the narrative of a daily life - that of the artist.

Each of the colourful fabrics and threads patiently assembled draw a new cartography and propose territories with rugged reliefs, in a profusion of abstract form and a weaving work that seems to have no end.

 

-----

Georgina Maxim was born in Zimbabwe in 1980. She lives and works in Harare.

Georgina Maxim is known for both working as an artist and curator with over a decade of arts management and curatorial practice. In 2012, she co-founded Village Unhu, an artist-run space in Harare that provides studio spaces, exhibitions, workshops and residency programs for young and professional artists. 

 

After completing her studies at the University of Chinhoyi, she taught visual arts for several years at the Prince Edward School, while managing the Delta Gallery, a historical gallery for contemporary art in Harare. At the same time, Georgina Maxim has developed her artistic practice by turning to textiles and using the techniques of embroidery, sewing and weaving to deconstruct, cut out and recompose second-hand clothes. Through her practice, Georgina Maxim creates unique pieces that escape any definition: the artist herself describes her work as an act of memory, a transcription of the moment, of the experiences and stories evoked by these used clothes.

 

In 2018, Georgina Maxim has been nominated for the Henrike Grohs Award (Goethe Institute, Abidjan). Her work has been exhibited in Zimbabwe (Delta Gallery, National Gallery of Zimbabwe) and internationally (Mojo Gallery in Dubai, 31 PROJECT in Paris and Goethe Institute in Salvador de Bahia).

 

In 2019, Georgina Maxim presented an installation for the Zimbabwean pavilion at the 58th Venice Biennale. In the same year, she took a master’s degree at the University of Bayreuth to deepen her curatorial practice. She also undertook a creative residency at the Goethe Institute in Salvador de Bahia.

EXPOSITIONS PASSÉES

 

YOUR PARENTS ARE SOO OLD

                        

Georgina Maxim

Solo show

 

Du 8 au 11 novembre 2019
Press preview : 8 novembre de 13h à 14h
Professional preview et Vernissage : 8 novembre de 14h à 22h
Le Carreau du Temple , rue Eugène Spuller– 75003 Paris

 

 

Pour sa première participation à la foire  AKAA du 8 au 11 novembre 2019 à Paris, 31 project présente un solo show de Georgina Maxim.
 

Your parents are soo old


est une exposition présentant plusieurs nouvelles pièces textiles de la plasticienne zimbabwéenne Georgina Maxim. A partir de vêtements de seconde main que l’artiste démantèle en des centaines de bandelettes, elle recoud et invente des pièces textiles abstraites, des surfaces mouvantes, déchirées, recomposées, créant ainsi une cartographie très personnelle .
Ces vêtements portent l’histoire de leurs anciens propriétaires, une mémoire muette et une absence contre laquelle l’artiste tente de remédier point par point. Georgina Maxim rassemble les morceaux épars, coud, brode et dessine les cicatrices pour lutter contre l’oubli. Chaque couleur et élément ainsi assemblés réactivent ces histoires cumulées en de nouvelles narrations.

-----

 

Par Clémence Houdart,

Novembre 2019, Paris

La préservation et la restauration de la mémoire sont au cœur du travail de Georgina Maxim. Au travers du tissage et de la broderie elle assemble des centaines de morceaux de textile épars issus de blouses, de robes et de vêtements essentiellement féminins et de seconde main. Ses œuvres se nourrissent des histoires évoquées par ces vêtements comme des témoignages en creux de ceux qui les ont portés. Georgina Maxim travaille la fragmentation et l’éclatement de son médium pour en recoudre ensuite les lambeaux point par point, démultipliant ainsi les récits et inventant de nouvelles narrations.

 

Your parents are soo old, paroles réminiscentes de l’enfance de l’artiste, servent de point de départ à cette série d’œuvres récentes de Georgina Maxim. Elle y dessine, dans le mouvement des générations qui se succèdent de disparitions en naissances, une narration familiale singulière autour de la  filiation et ses racines.  

« A chaque fois que ma Mbuya et mon Sekuru venaient, c’était toujours pour la journée des parents ou des remises de prix. Ces jours-là la classe bruissait de chuchotements et de rires étouffés car mes parents semblaient tellement vieux. »

 

Shabby Agnes,  au centre de cette exposition, est une grande pièce textile tout en épaisseur, couleurs, dentelles et fils de laine.  Surface mouvante et déchirée, chargée du poids des histoires qu’elle rapporte, c’est un hommage à la mère disparue. Plusieurs robes la constituent, suivant le processus de création de l’artiste utilisant l’éclatement de la matière puis sa recomposition. L’œuvre est en filigrane une critique sociale de certaines traditions et rites rattachés à la culture zimbabwéenne - comme l’usage qui veut que suite à un décès l’ensemble des affaires du défunt soit dispersé immédiatement sur la place publique.

 

Hands in the cookies jar, Mhingo / when you com back carry me II, Letters I wasn’t supposed to read, sont autant de titres évocateurs qui déploient leurs récits en écho entre chacune des œuvres. Ils nous renvoient à l’histoire personnelle de l’artiste mais résonnent chez tous comme ces anecdotes familières ou ces phrases déjà entendues au détour d’une conversation.

Une familiarité souvent teintée d’humour avec lequel joue Georgina Maxim qui insère dans ses pièces des détails brodés incongrus, offrant par là même une respiration et un léger décalage à son discours.

 

L’utilisation du textile offre ce rapport immédiat et très organique à l’œuvre. Georgina Maxim nous parle de ces corps qui ont habité ces vêtements, de leur absence. Elle tente dans un acte quasi performatif, par la répétition des points, l’aiguille et le fil et le geste mécanique, de pallier à ce vide. Georgina Maxim répare et révèle les cicatrices. Elle coud à fleur de peau. Ses œuvres sont comme un livre ouvert, un journal de bord qui retranscrit tout à la fois ces histoires passées et le récit d’un quotidien - celui de l’artiste.

 

Chacune des étoffes colorées et fils patiemment assemblés dessinent une nouvelle cartographie et proposent des territoires aux reliefs accidentés, dans une profusion formelle abstraite et un travail de tissage qui semble ne pas avoir de fin.

-----

Georgina Maxim,
née au Zimbabwe en 1980. Elle vit et travaille à Harare.


Artiste textile, Georgina Maxim partage son travail entre sa pratique artistique et sa pratique curatoriale. Elle a cofondé en 2012, Village Uhnu, un collectif et un espace artistique à Harare mêlant ateliers, expositions, workshops et programme de résidences.
Après des études à l’université de Chinhoyi, elle a enseigné les arts plastiques plusieurs années à l’école Prince Edward tout en dirigeant la Galerie Delta, galerie historique pour l’art contemporain à Harare.


Georgina Maxim a dans le même temps développé son travail artistique en se tournant vers le textile et en utilisant les techniques de la broderie, de la couture et du tissage pour déstructurer, découper et recomposer des vêtements de seconde main. Elle crée ainsi des oeuvres singulières qui échappent aux définitions: l’artiste décrit elle-même son travail comme un acte de mémoire, une transcription de l’instant, des moments vécus et des histoires qu’évoquent ces textiles usagés.


En 2018, Georgina Maxim a été nominée pour le Henrike Grohs Award (Goethe Institute, Abidjan). Son travail a été exposé au Zimbabwe et à l’international ( gallery Delta depuis 2009, Mojo Gallery en 2016, et la National Gallery of Zimbabwe en 2014) .

En 2019, Georgina Maxim passe un master à l’université de Bayreuth afin d’approfondir sa pratique curatoriale et effectue une résidence de création de plusieurs mois au Goethe Institute de Salvador de Bahia. La même année, elle présente également une installation pour le pavillon Zimbabwéen de la 58ème biennale de Venise. Elle expose cette année au Musée Bargoin (Clermont-Ferrand) et présentera son travail au FRAC Nouvelle-Aquitaine en 2021. 

 

 

 

31 PROJECT est une galerie spécialisée en art contemporain © 31 PROJECT, 2020

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle