• Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle

PAST EXHIBITION

 

OBJET / HOMME / ANIMAL

Fatoumata Diabate – Solo show

Photography

Exhibition: 28 March - 27 April 2019

Opening: 28 March, 6PM - 9PM

Location: 31 rue de Seine, 76006, Paris, France

Fatoumata Diabate, (born in 1980) is a Malian photographer. She lives and works between Montpellier and Bamako.  

Attracted by humanist and social portraiture and photography, her images are mainly about women and young generations in Mali. The oral tradition, the beliefs, the question of the transmission are at the heart of her work. Usual objects, improvised masks and clothes become in her portraits the symbolic vectors of a common living memory, constantly reinvented. 

For her first solo exhibition in Paris, Fatoumata Diabate presents a selection of artworks from two series: L’Homme en animal (Man as animal) and L’Homme en objet (Man as object). Two photographic projects realised between 2011 and 2015 around the role of stories and tales in the structuring of the individual in Mali. A strong symbolic language, where the object and the animal question our relation to the world, modifying the bodies and masking the human figure. 

 

After studying photography at the Promo Femmes audiovisual training center at the CFP in Bamako from 2002 to 2004, Fatoumata Diabate was then technician of the center's film laboratory until 2009.

 

Her work has been the subject of several exhibitions in Mali, France and abroad, including at the Fondation Blachère (2012), at the Muséum national du Havre (2017), at the Musée rouge de Canton and at the Shutter space, Chengdu (2019).

 

Fatoumata Diabate also took part in the Biennale de la photographie de Bamako  (2009, 2011), to the Voies off festival in Arles (2018), to the Biennale de Dakar (2018) and to the Festival photo La Gacilly (2017).  

 

Since December 2017, she is president of the association of women photographers of Mali.

• Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle

 

EXPOSITIONS PASSÉES

 

OBJET / HOMME / ANIMAL

Fatoumata Diabate – Solo show

Photographies

Exposition: 28 mars - 27 avril 2019

Vernissage: 28 mars, 18h - 21h

Lieu: 31 rue de Seine, 76006 Paris

Fatoumata Diabate, (née en 1980) est une photographe malienne. Elle vit et travaille entre Montpellier et Bamako.  

Attirée par le portrait et la photographie humaniste et sociale, l'artiste a pour sujet principal les femmes et les jeunes générations au Mali. La tradition orale, les croyances, la question de la transmission, sont au cœur de son travail. Objets usuels, masques improvisés et vêtements deviennent dans ses portraits les vecteurs symboliques d’une mémoire commune bien vivante, sans cesse réinventée.

 

Pour sa première exposition personnelle à Paris, Fatoumata Diabate présente une sélection d’œuvres issue de deux séries : L’Homme en animal et L’Homme en objet. Ces deux projets photographiques se sont développés en résonance de 2011 et 2015 autour du rôle des histoires et des contes dans la structuration de l’individu au Mali. Un langage symbolique fort, où l’objet et l’animal questionnent notre rapport au monde, modifient les corps et masquent la figure humaine.

 

Après avoir étudié la photographie au centre de formation audiovisuel Promo femmes puis au CFP de Bamako de 2002 à 2004, Fatoumata Diabate a ensuite été technicienne du laboratoire argentique du centre jusqu’en 2009.

 

Son travail a fait l’objet de plusieurs expositions au Mali, en France et à l’international,  notamment à la Fondation Blachère (2012), au Muséum national du Havre (2017), au Musée rouge de Canton et au Shutter space de Chengdu (2019).

 

Fatoumata Diabate a également pris part à la Biennale de la photographie de Bamako  (2009, 2011), au festival Voies off à Arles (2018), à la Biennale de Dakar (2018) ainsi qu’au Festival photo La Gacilly (2017).  

 

Depuis décembre 2017, elle est présidente de l’association des femmes photographes du Mali.